This larger-than-life, 15-foot bronze monument features Meriwether Lewis and William Clark and Clark's Newfoundland dog, Seaman. The monument commemorates Saint Charles' unique tie to the Lewis & Clark Expedition; for it was from Saint Charles (then known as Les Petites Cotes) in May 1804 that Lewis & Clark met to gather final supplies before embarking to explore the Louisiana Purchase territory. Conceptualized by citizens in 1993, the monument cost $490,000 and took one year for artist Pat Kennedy to complete. It was dedicated on May 18, 2003, one year prior to the Expedition's 200th anniversary. The Lewis & Clark monument sits along the Missouri riverfront in Frontier Park.